Israel - Hamas War October 2023

Anybody else been following this?

Talk about a massive intelligence failure. They really dropped the ball on this one, but am fairly sure they attacked now because of the dysfunctional political situation created by Bibi in Israel. Far too many religious, right-wing ideologues were put into positions of influence.

Netanyahu says Israel is at war after hundreds die in Hamas attacks - Netanyahu says Israel is at war after hundreds die in Hamas attacks | Financial Times via @FT

Been sorta following along. Saw the October 2023 date in the thread title and thought it was overly optimistic that the shooting stops in the month it re-started.

1 Like

I know that I don’t know enough about the whole Israel vs. Palestine conflict to say I’m an expert, but I do think I can say fairly confidently that neither side is innocent as a whole, and both sides have innocent blood on their hands.

That being said, this latest atrocity is nothing short of a horrendous terrorist attack, and I don’t see how this plays out as anything other than a full throated IDF response. They are calling it Israel’s 9/11 moment.

4 Likes

The rocket attacks are maybe an unfortunate
but expected part life there, but the hamas invasion into some of the border communities and kidnappings is absolutely frightening. This seems like it could escalate rapidly.

2 Likes

Agree that this is going to go on for a while.

The additional problem is they have lots of human shields now (the kidnapped people), so you can’t just start carpet bombing the place. You have to go slowly, and that means grinding urban warfare.

A lot of this is the fault of the right-wing nutjobs that Bibi installed (they are ideologues and not competent) They fractured society so much that they started looking inwards for domestic threats (instead of outside threats).