You majored in that? really?

This is a thread for college majors that don’t really seem real, or useful, or maybe way too narrow.

Or even pretty useless ones…

Yes, I’d like to hear about all the people who borrowed $200,000 to major in “something that interested them” which qualified them for no reasonable job so they end up 1) working at a retail establishment and 2) bitching about their student loans.

Someone at my old job had an Ethical Leadership major.

Seems very narrow. More like a class or two instead of a full blown BA.

Just read yesterday that Carnegie Mellon has a “Bagpipe Performance” BFA. From Carnegie Mellon. $70k a year well spent.

Sort of related, I started in engineering and then switched to applied math with an econ minor. My father was really upset because he said I’d never get a good job with a math/econ degree.

He had a business degree, and my first year out of school I made more than him, and he conceded that math was ok.

5 Likes

I studied 19th century French poetry

5 Likes

I’ve a friend who majored in drama, fine arts. A.couple of years later they went back and got a degree in cs. Now they work in cs, and do performing as a hobby.

I just hired ft someone who we had as a coop student last year. They just graduated with a fine arts degree. I don’t get it, they’re killer technically and with marketing principles, where did.that come from? But same thing, they’re going to do to find arts in the side.

Ooh, I’ve got a good one. My daughter went to Sarah Lawrence college. They had a masters program in dance therapy.
At convocation they announced my daughter’s program with ‘and now, people who actually have jobs’. She wasn’t in dance therapy lol.

Prince Edward island has a whole college dedicated to bagpipes and the like.It’s called.the.college of piping. When we went there, I’m like, where’s all the pipes.outside, i.assume they have pipe.inventory for welding. Turns.out they didnt mean thatkind of piping.

RN