Which job to transition from full-time tutor to first actuary job

I am currently a full-time math tutor with a small tutoring business (about five years old). I make about 20,000 USD per year from it. I have a bachelor’s degree in math and am currently studying for Exam P/1.

I was thinking of applying for jobs that use Excel or data analysis or something as a better way to transition to an actuarial job, but not sure if that’s a good idea. And if so, then which job specifically given that I have limited professional Excel or data analysis experience.

My only Excel experience at this point comes from the weekly assignments I had in my financial mathematics course (I took this course to prepare for Exam FM but did not yet take it). I’ve also used R in an STAM course.

I am in my thirties if it matters.

1 Like

Hello. welcome!
I’m a little rusty on career advice here, but the short version is this:
Pass Exam P/1 (and FM), then apply for Actuarial jobs.

I certainly would suggest any job that pays more than what you are making now, which, while “full-time” is probably only about 10 hours a week. (Math check: 40 weeks a year means about $500 per week, at $50/hour is 10 hours a week. Ish.) You could even keep your tutor business as supplemental income. But you’ll need hours set aside for studying for the exams.

Your being in your 30’s will be a challenge, and you’ll have to convince interviewers you are better than the other candidates.

2 Likes

Yes, money is tight. The tutoring feels full time during the semesters since it is very time consuming to prepare exercises (calc 1/2/3, differential equations, linear algebra), but money is still tight. So I thought perhaps a better paying job that would provide some technical experience with Excel or something might be smart.

Q: when will you be taking Exam 1/P or FM?