What is a Pricing Model?

I have had some experience in Pricing now, and I see a lot or new jobs talking about building Pricing Models. What does that entail?

I have done what I thought was traditional ratemaking work: producing indications, filing, exam 5 stuff, etc. But I haven’t built anything from scratch. How do you start building a pricing model from scratch and what skills do you normally need? And what is a Pricing Model?

1 Like

whatever you want it to be, as long as it’s related to pricing

Can be a model built from scratch, can be add-on’s to your existing rating plan, etc.

1 Like

Welcome to GoActuary SneakyPete!

PS: I agree with what John.S.Mill said. “pricing model” can be a very broad definition.

So is a model like the rating plan? You think about rating variables and their factors like home age x roof condition x … any other variable that impacts your home rate?

How do you determine the rating factors for each variable?

You mean how do you determine the factors themselves? Usually through some type of regression if it’s a multivariate model.

But other machine learning models are on the rise in the industry.

I’m having a hard time conceptualizing how this all takes place in practice. Would you have a ton of data and do analysis to determine which factors are predictive and then include those in your pricing model?

And then to determine factors, regression analysis?

Are you taking exams? If so, what exam are you on? A lot of this is covered on the exams. Are you looking to break into the field and are just curious? Are you a student?