Umpire discussion

Those who are or have been umpires (baseball or softball). Open for discussions/comiserating.

Here’s a current question:
Do you bring your gear/kit to games that you attend as a spectator in case there is a need?

Our area is collectively short of officials . Like games getting uncovered weekly somewhere i hear about. I am heading to my kid’s tournament tomorrow to watch. Would take a game if they needed, but prefer they dont need. Is it weird to be ready just in case?

2 Likes

As a soccer referee, I keep my gear ready, an I advise other referees to do so when they play away from our home area.

Unsolicited advice: try to understand the MAIN REASON people are not or are no longer sports officials, and work to fix that.
One is aging out of Boomers. But there is another.

Here’s a start:

1 Like

I usually had my gear with me.

I also usually had a second set of everything - clothes, whistles, clickers, masks, the works - in case I needed it for whatever reason or the other person forgot something. I took that lesson from way back early in my career when I went to go work a game and didn’t have black socks, and the guy I was working with reaches into his second bag and pulls out a pair of black socks for me.

I don’t officiate now, but that’s primarily due to a lack of time and being fat. [Which, I’m working on.] Well, that and surgeries through this year. Fan rudeness never bothered me, but I also worked in places where TPTB squashed that crap if it started. That was also 20-25 years ago, I recognize a whole lot has changed since, but I don’t think (would like to think) it would bother me any more today than it did back then.

Whether it bothers you or not is moot. Ignoring it on your game gives the abusers a belief that they can do it at the next game with an umpire who is bothered by it and doesn’t come back. Think macro- instead of micro-.