Screen protectors for cell phones

I finally bought a new cell phone. I got a Pixel 5. Yes, I paid extra to get the small one. And I love the size. (A tad smaller would be even nicer.)

Should I get a screen protector? I’ve been using screen protectors for several years. Hmm, I guess once it saved my bacon – I dropped the phone on cobblestones, the screen shattered, but the screen protector meant it all help together, and I could continue using it until I got it replaced. So I guess I ought to. But is the new glass good enough that I don’t need that? Would I have done just as well using the shattered screen directly until I replaced it?

If I get one, there are two major options. Glass and TPU plastic. I’ve been using TPU plastic protectors for the past several phones, and they work fine. Maybe glass feels nicer? I’d probably get TPU from Skinomi, because that’s who I bought my last few from, and they have been good.

There are a ton of options in tempered glass, and I don’t know that field at all. Any comments?

Or, I could just go naked.

No, I won’t be buying a case. I used to, a decade ago, and usually took the case off because it’s bulky. I haven’t for more than a decade, and have never regretted that decision, even when I’ve dropped the phone.

I would definitely get a screen protector. It’s pretty easy to accumulate scratches if you toss it in a purse regularly, or ever have anything else in your pocket.

I like TPU screen protectors, but they seem to be out of favor and harder to find.

skinomi has one for this phone. I’ve been happy with them.

Should make a poll . . .

But +1 on screen protectors. More from the stand-point of eliminating scratches (which increase the chance of breakage) on the main screen.

I like the Otterbox cases. They don’t seem bulky to me. I also like the glass screen protectors, but I never know if any of this stuff actually helps :man_shrugging: