Priest defrocked for blasphemous communications on social media

And for disobeying the hierarchy.

I expect this will get political, so let’s just start there.

1 Like

cat fight lol

Details of the reasoning not yet public, but apparently he was a huge MAGA head.

shouldn’t that be “huge MAGA lack-of-head”?

He seems pretty aligned with most catholics I see online, so this will be interesting.

For those who are curious what he did, from Lucy’s link (emphasis mine):

Note that it doesn’t specify that this is the reason he was dismissed. They are apparently not saying.

Also:

Yikes. That absolutely goes against [my understanding of] Catholic teaching and also jeopardizes the church’s 501c3 status. While it’s unlikely that would be revoked over a rogue priest’s Tweets, it sounds like he was making himself more of a liability than an asset.

It is perhaps worth noting that Joe Biden is Catholic.

As a pastor I am getting closer and closer to believing we just really shouldn’t even vote. Not sure it serves any purpose. I can submit to any authority. Jesus did. Want to make it illegal to worship? That’s fine. Arrest me, I will hopefully deserve it. Otherwise you do you, i’ll do me.

1 Like

I don’t follow. Who is “we”?

1 Like

So, worshipping false idols?

This path has dangers too, as when the lutheran church in germany rather infamously did too little to resist nazism. that attitude went all the way back to writings of martin luther on submitting to secular authorities.

1 Like

I hope he doesn’t worship Trump… sounds like he is more likely a single-issue pro-life voter. But who knows. :woman_shrugging:

Anyone acting as clergy. We definitely shouldn’t tell others who to vote for.

2 Likes

You can definitely throw shade at bad character. I don’t know what the day to day was like in Germany but I certainly threw shade at Donald Trump’s character the last several years. No need to endorse anyone else to do that.