Pearson failure today

I haven’t seen any comments on GoA, and I’m somewhat removed from CAS student life these days. However, I notice a couple of posts on the actuary subreddit mentioning a Pearson outage during the CAS exam window:

https://www.reddit.com/r/actuary/comments/1chq6d0/pearson_vue_issues/
https://www.reddit.com/r/actuary/comments/1chq2ik/cas_pearson_canada_outage/
https://www.reddit.com/r/actuary/comments/1chxb7u/cas_class_action_lawsuit_exam_6_updates/

1 Like

What was the biggest outrage that happened in the era of pencil and paper? I only recall that one time the exams got lost in the mail but I’m not that experienced.

The CBT exam failures seem to draw much more outrage at least from my perspective.

1 Like

The reason I never got my ASA was because in the last sitting before SOA transition in the early-mid 90’s (I started out on life exams before I fully settled on a casualty path), I reported to an exam site in Birmingham, Alabama. The exam room at the site was an all-glass conference room. It was a sunny day in May…and the A/C had failed.

I also remember one CAS exam sitting where I appealed a triple-true-false question as defective. I forget the precise details, but the statement was a direct quote from one of the texts. Without context, the statement was false, but with additional context it did actually make sense. When I appealed and re-appealed, I finally got a response back of “at this point, you are supposed to know that if it is a direct quote, even if it’s wrong, you’re supposed to answer ‘true’”.