Immunity and mask wearing

Short story: now-former CEO of big South Dakota-based hospital system got COVID-19, recovered, and now doesn’t wear a mask because he claims to be immune.

Longer story:
https://www.startribune.com/sanford-replaces-ceo-after-controversial-email-about-masks/573186891/

StarTribune article text

My questions: Based on perception, it’s a poor image, imo…especially for a CEO of a health system…but, based on science, is he right? Is it pointless from a healthcare perspective that he wear a mask? Even though he’s immune, could he still transmit the virus to others? I think there are mutations of the virus floating around. Couldn’t he be infected by those?

Based on this article, it seems that reinfection is a distinct possibility.

I’m no expert, but if he has fully recovered transmission from him should be negligible or nonexistent, is my impression. Just as anyone else, he could receive a big enough dose that would infect someone else, but he’s not going to transmit anywhere near all of what he received to any one other person. If he’s really immune, the virus won’t grow in his body, creating more than what he received available for spreading.

I don’t see the Star Tribune article talking about the reinfection possibility.

Note: did not read the link.

The way humans work is you need to make it easy for them to pick the good choice, particularly for things they don’t want to think about. How many people he comes into contact with know his personal story? Everyone of those people that do not know his story just see one more reason not to where a mask.

He is a selfish prick, but of course, middle aged/old white guy.

1 Like

I wrote something similar on the AO: just because he’s immune, that doesn’t make him a COVID virus killing machine, like a vacuum cleaner for the air, but for COVID.