How to handle potential underdevelopment

I am seeking some advice regarding my general situation at my current job. I have been working for about 2 years, and expect to be ASA in about a year. Essentially, I am concerned that my development as a worker is starting to lag behind my experience.

Thus far, my boss has been very nice, and while this is good in some ways, I feel that it has also been to my own detriment. It seems that the other students I started with have been assigned more challenging work and have thus developed their skills further than I have.

I was in a bizarre situation where I never really did work for my actual boss; since I was never really needed in the role I was placed in I ended up working on some project based stuff with more tangential managers. It sounds fine in theory, but in reality there was never really communication between managers about who was assigning me what-so there were huge hunks of time where I wasn’t really working on anything at all. I would end up studying, and if there was no exam to take, mostly just watch TV or play xbox. In retrospect this was a poor way to handle the situation on my part, but I didn’t feel comfortable outing myself as someone who contributed nothing substantial. I feel that my manager certainly knew what was going on, but he didn’t want to expose me either because it would have reflected poorly on him for mismanaging me to some degree (I’m not sure exactly what that degree really was). I think that had I been in the office, there is little chance that this would have happened. Eventually I would have just been assigned more work.