GH-FV Fall 2020

Anyone here sitting for FV this fall?
I just found out that I passed DP… thankfully I had already started studying for FV last month.
I am now through all the material (read: TIA videos) and have started practice problems and flash cards.

I have no accounting background whatsoever (can’t remember anything from my VEE finance class from years ago), and therefore feel a bit overwhelmed with the accounting related topics. I started watching Khan Academy videos on income statements and balance sheets… Yikes :frowning:
If anyone has any helpful thoughts or resources, I would be very appreciative.

Can someone please explain “in English” what is implicit vs. explicit debt recognition?

I’m ready to discuss FVA and FVC.

what LO are you in?

There’s implicit vs explicit debt recognition in EV cost of capital formulas, is that what you were referring to?

Implicit is when the rdr already includes debt, see the wacc with debt in it. Explicit is when debt is not included in the rdr and you have to account for cost of debt separately.

Felt so much better about these exams than the July sitting and I was a 5/5 in July. Felt like i nailed most of FV-C and improved slightly on FV-A.

Nice! I was borderline in July myself. I definitely think I did better this sitting than July one. I feel the opposite, I feel more confident about FVA. FVC had too little math for my liking.

Yeah, I took a gamble on FV-C and focused like 85% of my time this past weekend on memorizing the lists and assumed the math would be 1)simple 2)minimal and it definitely worked out.

FVA problems:

1. Stochastic models, no math.

no particular order:

some standard reserving questions, both words and math
the DAC question
some PDR
LTC and ASOP23 all words no math

1. EV, one words question and one math question.
  2. Mergers and Acquisitions, no math.

Wow that worked out for you