Exercising Options w my Employer

Hey nerds. Here is my situation, hoping to get some a) opinions on what you all would do in my shoes and b) help me understand the tax implications because I’m a total newb at this stuff.

The situation: I have the opportunity to sell up to 10% of my vested shares.

1. I have vested a total of 11,500 shares to date, so I can sell up to 1,150 shares.
  2. My first grant was 4,000 shares in April of 2021.
  3. My first exercise was for 2,500 shares in December of 2021. I exercised again in January of 2022 for 3,500 shares.
  4. When I exercised, the strike price was $4 and FMV was about $14. I don’t know which matters for purposes of taxes, my understanding is that by exercising, my basis was moved from $4 to $14 but I’ve no idea what I’m doing here.
  5. An investor is offering $43, so that’s my offering.

I think those are the pertinent details. I’m optimistic about the company, we have good leadership, we are cash flow positive, revenue growth is around 35-40% for this year. But obviously a lot can happen, and a bird in the hand, I’m leaning towards selling even if it means eating a huge tax bill. I’ve got 16,000 options total including un-vested shares and that grows every year so I’m still preserving a lot of upside.

How would you avoid a huge tax bill? Sell everything the year you plan to retire?

I would definitely sell 10%. It is currently worth 1,150 x 14 = 16,100 and you’re being allowed to get 1,150 x 43 = 49,450 for it. Even after taxes you must be at least 50%+ ahead.

Do you ever donate to charity?

If you can donate the shares to charity and they can sell for $43 then you can write off $43 / share on your itemized deductions and no one ever has to pay the tax on the difference between $14 & $43.

I assume you already paid the tax on the difference between $4 & $14 when you exercised. That was probably on your W-2.

So if you were going to give money to charity anyway, that is the most tax-efficient way of doing it.