Does anyone play Go (Weiqi, Baduk)?

I recently got into Go and I have… really dived in head first. Haven’t felt like this since I was a chess beginner.

Does anyone else here play much?

I’ve tried, but like chess I quickly found out I would have to devote too much of my life to be any good at it so I gave up. I already have other serious hobbies so no room for me.

I used to in high school.

You should buy the books that have the puzzles (similar to chess). Those are more fun than actual Go games imo.

Thing about Go is that it seems less algorithmic than chess (which is a good thing, because it makes expert moves seem less obvious), because the rules are so simple and the board is huge, and there’s micro and macro considerations (survive locally but also round off the most territory)

I’m getting up to speed on a 9x9 app which is admittedly more immediately tactical than ‘real’ 19x19 Go.

I learned from this tutorial: Way to Go

I’m now using Skill Tree – Go Magic (paid site, but 10 free lessons a day) and an app called BadukPop; there’s a Tsumego (life or death problems) app I’m also using, and I’m playing against other beginners on a third app.

I have a couple books for beginners I plan on working through.

I will also pick up shogi soon… we’ll see.

Go is fun, though I’ve played just a handful of times, I think I needed a 7 or 8 piece handicap to hang with players that knew what they were doing.

I’ve got the hyperfixation bad. I see chasing sequences in my mind’s eye periodically through the day.

650 games in about 2 weeks, and 5 books arriving today.

Yup. Sounds about right for me, ha.

In a couple weeks I’ll go back to playing chess (had to take a month off after I realized I wasn’t enjoying it anymore).