Dental fillings for a dog?

Perhaps this should just have been a PM to ao fan, but I’ll accept ideas from others, too.

Two vets recommend dental cleaning for our corgi/sheltie mix. He’s approx 11 years, exact not known since a rescue estimated at about 5 when we got him.

Both estimates show the price for tooth extraction if required, though both say that’s just a possibility, depending on what they find and what they see on x-rays. The recommendation was just a byproduct of a routine annual exam at the first vet, and a second opinion about a non-dental item from the first exam.

Neither vet would consider fillings. Quick googling suggests some places (in the US; I didn’t look yet to see if any are reasonably close) do filling for dogs. Anyone have experience with that?

I have no actual knowledge, just going off gut but I would assume extraction is both easier and cheaper. The goal is to remove decay. If we are talking about a single tooth (or even 2) it seems like fillings are more cosmetic than medically necessary.

With people I have the impression that fillings are supposed to be healthier for the patient. Maybe with a dog already 11 that shouldn’t be much of a factor. I’m also on hold with the first vet right now to be sure whether their dental procedure even includes x-rays, and to confirm they do not do fillings. (Extractions but not fillings were listed as a possible outcome.)

ETA: no dental x-rays or fillings at the first vet. They’re proposing a thorough cleaning, under anesthesia, with potential extraction of any teeth where they find serious problems.

Where’s that dentist that came to the AO (or was it here) to discuss how he was trying to change insurance billing practices? He could probably answer the health question.

My older dog (15 now) has had some dental issues and had a few teeth removed.