Data v. Finance

Howdy Actuaries. First post here, former AO lurker.

I’ve reach a point in my young career that no student wants to believe will happen but comes up for far too many of us. I no longer want to be an actuary.

For me, the motivation to pass exams in order to build a career that I am losing interest in is declining rapidly. I find myself only a few months out from the next exam I am supposed to take having not even broken out the material.

The big hesitation I find is that while I personally believe I have developed plenty of transferable skills in my few years as an analyst, my resume is covered is references to actuarial. Education? Actuarial Science. Experience? Actuarial Analyst. Who outside of the actuarial world would understand what I could bring unless I can get into an interview and explain it.

So begins the exit question, where do we go from here? The way I see it there are two options, data and finance.

While I won’t go so far as to say I could find my way into a Data Science role. I do have a few programming languages and some key words about data analytics on my resume that I could leverage into a Data Analyst type position. Especially if I look to insurance companies as a transition.

I also have some resume language that could lend itself into a finance/investment type of role. We use financial concepts every day and highlighting MFE could create some opportunity there. Similarly, an investment/ALM role at an insurance company could be a good way to go just because they might have some understanding of the skill set an actuary would bring.

In summary, I am posting here to see if anyone made either of these transitions. What has your experience been in the post-actuarial world? Does anyone have any thoughts on either of these career paths coming from an actuarial background?