Car knowledge

Okay I’m pretty ignorant about cars, like blinker fluid-level ignorant. I was wondering how much is worth knowing about cars in order to save some money at the mechanic. Actually I pretty much have to use the mechanic since I park in a condo garage where I can’t work on the car anyway. I just wanna know I’m not getting scammed or something.

Or, should I just invest more in my career and eat the cost of car ignorance? Because doing that might earn me more money since that’s where I’m an expert.

1 Like

just don’t use your blinkers. you’ll be fine

1 Like

also, never press that red triangle button. It’s for eject!

2 Likes

Through advice from friends, I have found a mechanic that I trust pretty well.

He is the type to accurately and completely fix the things that go wrong with my cars/truck. He is not necessarily cheap, but I trust that when something is broken he will fix what needs to be fixed and not make up crap about what other repairs he can do to pad his bill. I think that’s about as good as it gets these days.

2 Likes

rotating your tires is a total scam! They rotate every time you drive, duh!

3 Likes

Buying a car that doesn’t require too much unexpected maintenance is probably what you should do.
So, Toyota or Honda (and their offshoots).
Oil changes and fluid refills gonna oil change and fluid refill.

I once worked at a full-service gas station, back in the day when there were no computers in the car. So, I know enough not to do my own maintenance at home (a lift is preferred, along with all the stuff found in a bay). I tried with my first car, but it was more trouble than the savings. I still had to dispose of the oil, and to clean myself afterward. Easier at a bay, with strong soap and gloves and the right tools that are used for hundreds of cars instead of just one. Economies of scale, that’s what I’m talking about.