Business Writing Course?

Has anyone ever taken a business writing course?

Personally, I am a decent writer but am absolutely worthless when it comes to editing and teaching my team to be better writers. I could take an editing course to try to learn (and still might) but I feel like a better first step would be to send people to a writing course.

I am not sure any writing courses I took had that much value.

I am an excellent proof reader, I have an eye for detail, decent grammar (better at knowing what’s wrong, than knowing what’s right) and am very anal.

But, I don’t know if you can teach that. Also, most of what I edit, I am intimately aware of the content, so I see the technical errors as well.

I believe people can be taught to be detail oriented, by being shown their errors, but I am still shocked how many people don’t see it regardless. Even things like a consistent font, columns properly aligned, checking a table of contents that it matches the document, defined terms in a treaty or policy are properly capitalized.

Unless the course is specific to your business, I feel experience is the best way to learn. Possibly even have someone in your unit who is particularly good teach a Lunch & Learn type course

1 Like

Main point to get across is that your team needs to know their audiences. Just because they don’t see an error, or don’t think it matters, it might matter to the recipient. And that the consequence of an error might have influence in the sender’s future raises or promotions, or continued employment.
Now that the proper motivation is in place, I think their learning will come around.

I can’t say any of my managers were great writers. If anything, most of them seem to be dyslexic, and/or they have executive assistants write shit for them.

I did a technical writing course in university and was forced into a “High Impact Business Writing” course at my first employer… you need tips and tricks?