Burnout

I don’t know that I want to be an actuary anymore. I’m not very good at it. I mean, I’m fine at it, but I’m not excellent at it and I’ve never had a passion for it. The problem is, I have no other passions that I can make a career out of.

I love my work, I truly do. I don’t necessarily love my company, and hustle culture is toxic and I’m not interested in playing that game. I don’t want my boss’s job. I’m definitely not interested in advancement of any kind, really, because that would require believing in some kind of corporate kool-aid mumbojumbo.

So, clearly I’m burnt out. It happens several times a year for me, often when work slows down after a busy period, which is exactly now.

How do you address/avoid burn out? I’m not interested in leaving my company for reasons and I’m not going to discuss these thoughts with my manager, because other reasons. I can’t take time off work right now because I have FMLA leave coming up.

I’m actually not even looking for advice for my own situation…just looking to hear from other people how they tackle burn out themselves.

Taking time off is how I do it. It usually takes me getting another project I like to get reenergized for work. My current role has gotten old really fast. My team built out an amazing analytics suite in Power BI for our customers. Then the team that is supposed to be doing these things took my best employee from me. Then my bosses boss told me I should have spent more time consulting with them through building as they are the experts. It shouldn’t have been me that trained and developed the best visualization person in the department.

My boss didn’t take up for me and told me to stay in my lane even if it meant not getting as much done. Corporate politics is bullshit. Guess who isn’t going to stay in their lane? I like visualizations and they are the perfect solution for our customers. We’re going to keep building them.