Beginner SQL help

I have extensive background programming in SAS.
I’m relatively new to SQL.
I need lots of help.
This is where I’ll post all of my requests for help.

I need a particular value for a particular field to be something else.

In the db I’m reading, I have a bunch of records where LOB = ‘X’. Whenever that happens I need it to be changed to LOB = ‘XX’. There are lots of other LOBs, of course. A, B, C, D, and so on all the way up to X, but whenever it’s ‘X’ I need it to be ‘XX’.

Here’s my code right now:

SELECT [VALUATION_DATE], [COMPANY], [LOB], Sum(PREMIUM) AS ‘PREMIUM’
FROM [SOURCE]
GROUP BY [VALUATION_DATE], [COMPANY], [LOB]
ORDER BY [VALUATION_DATE], [COMPANY], [LOB]

There must be some sort of WHEN clause I throw in there.

CASE
WHEN LOB = ‘X’
THEN ‘XX’
ELSE LOB
END
as NEWLOB

Aside: Looks better when indenting the “When” “then” “Else” lines, but this website ignores leading spaces.
Some people prefer this all on one line.
CASE WHEN LOB = ‘X’ THEN ‘XX’ ELSE LOB END as NEWLOB

You’d think that the word “IF” would be used, but “IF” has another use, for declaring variables, as opposed to creating new fields.
And, yes, you’ll have to repeat the “CASE WHEN” in the GROUP BY area, excluding the “AS NEWLOB” part.

1 Like

What the good Dr said.

Should add you can add as many “when… then…” statements as you’d like.

Yes. CASE WHEN…WHEN…WHEN…(yada yada yada)…ELSE … END as LOBSTERBISQUE

(Edited, for SV.)

Does SQL allow you to yada yada over sex?

1 Like

Thank you for all that.

[rant]I’ve always found this particularly annoying.[/rant]

1 Like

NEW QUESTION.

I have a WHERE clause in my statement:

SELECT... WHERE [COMPANY] = 'ABC' ...GROUP BY...ORDER BY...

I don’t need to see COMPANY in the summary report but if I don’t include it I’ll get some sort of 'COMPANY' is invalid in the select list because it is not contained in either an aggregate function or the GROUP BY clause error.