Anyone worked at a reinsurance broker?

I have an offer at one of the big three as a senior actuary. My background is mostly in pricing for speciality lines with some reinsurance (albeit limited). Offers is very competitive and got a good impression from the interviews, however main thing putting me off is work life balance and exit opportunities.

On the WLB: How bad is it? I know it’ll be busy around 1/1 and 1/7, but are we talking work until midnight busy or stay until 7-8pm busy? I’m late twenties no kids at the moment so I’m happy to work hard, but will be thinking about kids in next 3 years I think.

On exit opportunities: one thing I noticed is most of the actuaries I met, and have spoken to that work there seem to never leave. Even those that come from industry like myself, they seem to stick around there for a long time. If I did want to go back to industry, say back to the specialty insurance side - would it be difficult? Am I narrowing myself down to one area of work?

I’m excited about the opportunity, they all seem like really smart people so I’d like to learn a lot from them, and they have made promises for progression and generally seem to be keen on me joining, but just trying to think longer term.

Any insights would be great

I think the work life and job in general can vary a lot by office and type of work. I used to do consulting for one of the big brokers and actually didn’t find the work life balance that bad, but I eventually got sick of being a consultant and prefer the insurer side.

I’m guessing you’re in the UK from your 1/7, I’d imagine there are country-specific differences too. I have a buddy who works for the big4 and that has very varied work-life, where the first quarter is a sweatshop and then they basically work 4-day weeks in the summer.

I doubt it (Re Broker) is worse than Big 4 consulting in terms of hours.