Filing question

I am new to signing filings and got my first objection today because I am in the reporting period and the state suggested I am not qualified.

I have the CE to attest, so I did, but is this a thing? Do I need to attest now on day one of the reporting period, or else not sign required filings?

what state is this

Washington

that is weird. Never encountered this objection in my life, didn’t even know they checked for qualification.

Maybe it’s something specific to your LOB?

So the exact wording was, “While we recognize that there is an extended period for actuarial attestations, the online Actuarial Directory is our primary source for checking current qualification. When it does not say “Compliant” for the current year, we need additional information regarding the qualification of the signing actuary. Please demonstrate that NerdAlert currently meets the requirements for 2022 as a qualified actuary.”

:face_with_raised_eyebrow: no wonder it takes 2 years to get a filing approved in WA.

Who uses the Actuarial Directory…

I just searched my name and all it says is FCAS MAAA. I don’t see any mentioning of being compliant.

So I don’t think it has anything to do with your CE. You just need to prove that you’re an actuary. Does your name not say whatever you are in the directory?

Unless they’re able to see more from the directory.

The Actuarial Directory lists compliant / non-compliant for everyone, or at least, I’ve never seen a credentialed actuary that didn’t have it listed.

But they run on a calendar year basis. So if NerdAlert isn’t compliant for 2020-2021 then she shouldn’t be signing stuff using her letters as that’s all that’s required for 2022. If they’re whining that she’s not yet compliant for 2021-2022 then they need to take a chill pill as she’s still got five-plus weeks.

ETA: I updated based on the exact wording on the listing.