Conversation On State Of Economy

I have a friend at work who I started a 30 minute MWF chat with when we went remote early in the pandemic. We have some great chats about the economy and our faith. Anyway he was discussing some criticism of the Fed in responding slowly to inflation he had read in the Economist and it got us talking about the current state of the economy. Two things we discussed that spurred interesting thought to me.

1. Joe Manchin’s demand to make the BBB bill budget neutral seems like a really good decision.

2. We both preferred this economy coming out of a disaster to the economy after the housing crisis. Basically red hot job market with inflation is better than a bunch of unemployed people and deflation.

Any interesting observations you have had? Any thoughts on ours?

I have an Economics degree.
I don’t think the government should be in the business of controlling the Economy, since it does so not to “help The People” but more to keep elected officials alive and with jobs.

(Or, in some cases, to speed up the process of replacing said elected officials, cuz politics.)

1 Like

Good luck with that!

1. Manchin insisiting BBB be budget neutral keeps the Fed from having to crank up the printers again to finance a larger deficit. [It’ll do it yet, just not as soon as it otherwise would have had to do to keep interest rates down.]
  2. On paper, the economy is better than pre-Great Recession. In reality, it’s closer to 2000 or 2007 before things fell apart, because of all the zombie companies out there that have been propped up.

Add: