Awkward questions that I should have asked a long time ago

So I have a coworker whose name I don’t know how to pronounce and one astonishing observation I have is that I haven’t heard anyone actually say his name either. Since I have been working with this person for a few years now I think it would be kind of weird to ask how to pronounce his name.

I might try to rip the band aid off someday.

I used to work for this one company identified by an acronym. I knew it used to stand for something but the top brass seems to have spent a lot of effort in preventing people (both internally and externally) from knowing what it stands/stood for in what I suspect to be some kind of marketing stunt.

I never asked what it stood for, although I think there were some long-tenured employees who knew the answer.

I ask. I’d rather struggle a time or two than mispronounce someone’s name forever.

Related, I forget the name of one of our coops bf. I started calling him ,the millwright’. And now the coop just refers to them as the millwright’ so I guess I’ll never know.

Back in middle school there was this girl who was clearly interested in me, and seemed to have made every effort to hang out with me between classes and during break, would ask me if I already had a girlfriend, etc.

This went on for about a year and I never actually asked what her name was. So, I wonder what would have been. I guess I’m glad i didn’t, because then I wouldn’t be where I am today.

What’s a ‘coops bf’?

I once worked with a woman who had a difficult to pronounce foreign name. But I already had an acquaintance with the exact same name, so I already knew how to pronounce it.

When we were introduced our boss pronounced her name wrong.